Garden Basket Tart

by Country Spoon

I always collect my vegetables in this old basket, my garden basket. Every time I fill it, I admire how beautiful it looks – all of the colors and shapes.  I am always so tempted to use everything all at once. This garden basket tart truly is a tart of the garden and what is in season.

Garden Basket Tart:

1 small zucchini – thinly sliced

2 small yellow summer squash – thinly sliced

2 banana peppers – seeded and sliced

1 medium tomato – sliced

1 head of broccoli – trees divided

1 garlic clove – minced

1 puff pastry dough

1/4 c. pesto

olive oil

1/2 c. feta cheese

sea salt

freshly cracked black pepper

Preheat oven to 400.  Lay puff pastry dough out on pizza stone or cookie sheet.  Prepare vegetables.  Spread pesto on pastry dough.  Start by layering zucchini and yellow summer squash, followed by banana pepper, tomato and broccoli.  Top with feta cheese.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Drizzle with olive oil.  Bake for 15 minutes or until puff pastry is golden.  Cool slightly and serve.

